The Emmy Awards: The Big Winners

Every year the Emmy Awards recognises the top talent on television. Considered to be one of the highest accolades a TV series can be nominated for, especially for an American audience, the awards show normally attracts a lot of celebrity attention. The 68th annual prime time Emmy ceremony was hosted this year by comedian Jimmy Kimmel (a quick glance at the photos made me realise I didn’t know the difference between Jimmy Kimmel and Jimmy Fallon… oops… while planning out this article I had the Lip Sync Battle guy in my head!) who followed the current trend of ‘roasting’ celebrities both present and absent. This hit some high points (any mocking reference of Donald Trump) and some bum notes (suggesting Bill Cosby was coming out to present an award.

TIME 100 Gala, TIME'S 100 Most Influential People In The World - Dinner

A handy guide for differentiating your Fallons from your Kimmels (Photo by Kevin Mazur/WireImage for TIME)

The Winners

For your enjoyment, here’s a list of all the folks who walked away with a trophy (and who I would have voted for if I was Queen of the World).

  • Outstanding Drama Series – Game of Thrones (I would have picked Mr Robot. I love GoT but I thought the first series on Mr Robot was much more interesting than the latest season of the Thrones)
  • Comedy Series – Veep (Again, I love Veep, but I think Master of None or Silicon Valley were both stronger than Selina and co this year)
  • Outstanding Limited Series – The People vs OJ Simpson (I probably would have gone for this or Fargo – both were awesome)
  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series – Rami Malek for Mr Robot (I totally agree with this. He’s fantastic)
  • Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series – Tatiana Maslany for Orphan Black (I can’t even express how much this woman deserves this award. She plays like 7 individual characters, who sometimes play each other. She should have won this award every year since she started!!)

 

rsz_untitled

Tatiana Maslany – Hand this lady all the awards

 

  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series – Jeffrey Tambor for Transparent (I would have chosen Aziz Ansari for Master of None myself, although he may very well just be playing himself…)
  • Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series- Julia Louis-Dreyfus for Veep (I would agree with this too. I think she was fab.)
  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie – Courtney B. Vance for The People v. O.J. Simpson (I probably would agree with this. I didn’t see The Night Manager and maybe if I had, I would pick Tom Hiddleston instead)
  • Outstanding Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie – Sarah Paulson for The People v. O.J. Simpson (I thought she was amazing, and I certainly think she deserves the award, but I might just have picked Kirsten Dunst for her role in Fargo instead)
  • Outstanding Reality-Competition Program – The Voice (I’d not seen any of the shows in this category, but American Ninja Warrior sounded pretty cool…)
  • Outstanding Variety Talk Series – Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Absolutely. I think John Oliver is one of the best people on TV. Give him all the awards)

 

rsz_130501152342-john-oliver-comedy-central-story-top

John Oliver saw off two Jimmys and a James for his award

 

  • Outstanding Television Movie – Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (Yeah, this was pretty good. I think I’d have picked it too. Give Cumberbatch something to celebrate)
  • Outstanding Variety Sketch Series – Key & Peele (I’ve not seen much of these guys, but if Keenan-Michael Key’s ‘Anger Translation’ of Obama’s speech is anything to go by, they probably earned it)
  • Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series – Ben Mendelsohn for Bloodline (There were so many great actors to choose from, but I think I would have gone with Jonathan Banks in Better Call Saul)
  • Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series – Maggie Smith for Downton Abbey (Sorry guys, I’m totally over DA. I’d have picked Maisie Williams in GoT for this one)
  • Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series – Louie Anderson for Baskets (For me, this one had to be Tituss Burgess for Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt – a disappointing loss there)
  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series – Kate McKinnon for Saturday Night Live (She’s a very talented lady, so I’m with the committee on this one)
  • Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or Movie – Sterling K. Brown for The People v. O.J. Simpson (I might have picked David Schwimmer for this one, as I thought he was incredible)
  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie – Regina King for American Crime (I think I would have picked Jean Smart for Fargo as  was understated and brilliant throughout

Game of Thrones and The People v. O.J. Simpson both took home further awards for writing , as did Aziz Ansari for Master of None. Tina Fey and Amy Poehler were recognised as Outstanding Guest Actresses in a Comedy Series for their appearance on SNL.

rs_500x242-130922180824-tumblr_mtjzsgkzei1ql7ajgo1_500

A full list on the nominees and winners can be found here.

Follow me on Twitter @pixiewose

Leave a Reply

Categories

