The 30 Best TV Shows of 2016 According To Thrillist

One of the best things about working with Skatronixxx is when I need to know the details about a show, I can rely on our badass writers to give it to me straight. But every so often, I stray from home and check out another site. Or some click bait will pop up in my inbox that I just can’t resist. Enter Thrillist.

For those of you that aren’t familiar with Thrillist, it’s a site of…well…lists. But dammit if they don’t put some good ones together.

But sometimes their lists are horribly horrible. And sometimes they’re magnificently wrong. But other times, if I’m lucky, their lists can cause discussions (read: arguments) between me and my friends that can last for days (yes, that’s a good thing).

With that in mind, I bring you Thrillist’s list of the Best TV Shows of 2016 (so far), Ranked. Follow the link for the full list. Below, I’ll sum up a few entries that I agree or disagree with .

No Gotham? Are you F@CKING KIDDING ME?!?!

Yeah. They forgot Gotham. I’m really hoping they overlooked it or…actually, I can’t really think of why that show didn’t make this list. I suppose that’s the difference between them and us.

gotham-400_300

Fellow writer, StarkWyvernGaming might agree with me on this one. He and I both agree that Gotham is the best show on TV right now.

OK. Redemption with BrainDead.

Thrillist did include BrainDead, a show that I thought was extremely underrated and was done a disservice by CBS. The show turned out to be a well-written, tongue-in-cheek commentary on the current state of American politics. Before you let that deter you, let me give you this: the show surmises that the U.S. Congress has been taken over by warring factions of aliens, which is why nothing in government gets done…because all of our politicians don’t control their own brains.

braindead-400_300

Unfortunately, due to low ratings the show has been canceled. CBS broadcast the show during the summer and in a late timeslot with little buzz. It deserved better.

The good thing is, even though it was only one season long, the whole story is self-contained, so it makes for something fun to marathon. Stream it here.

A Few That I (And Maybe You) Need To Check Out

BrainDead sits at #30 on the countdown. After that, there are a number of shows that I have yet to have time for, but have heard good things about. Or, it could just be that the advertising and marketing have gotten inside my head. Either way…

…all seem to be performing well and landing critical acclaim. I know they’re not all geek-typical, but who decides that, anyway? We Do!

But, No Love for The Expanse

I was about to start wrapping things up but then my ego got the best of me. I cover The Expanse for Skatronixxx so I’ve got to let Thrillist know they dropped the ball on this one, too.

holden-and-crew

So, What Do You Think?

Towards the top of the list, you’ll start to see the shows that EVERYONE watches. Game of Thrones, Silicon Valley, Stranger Things, Westworld, etc.

However, I’m sure there are a TON of shows that should have made this list. You’ve heard a bit of my thoughts, now I’d like to hear yours. Feel free to comment or message me directly.

Stay tuned for The Expanse S1 EP 9: Critical Mass.

Leave a Reply

Categories

