We Review Vampire Diaries SN8 EP7 – ‘The Next Time I Hurt Somebody, It Could Be You’

vamp-diaries-hurt-someone

Let me start by saying that I’m really tired of this Damon.  I liked the Damon that tried to be a hero … tried to do the right thing even if he screwed it all up, he at least had good intentions.  That Damon was like me and all the others that try to do the right thing even if there’s an epic fail waiting for them.  At the beginning of the season, you could still see our Damon in there, even if his humanity switch was in the off position.  When he would tell someone, “I really don’t want to kill you,” or even “I was rooting for you, I really was,” you just knew our Damon was still in there.  This Damon?  Nope.  I don’t like him so much.

Oh, and he’s totally confusing too.  When Enzo had the tuning fork and had Sybil right where we all wanted her, Damon saved her… but then he ripped her heart out.  Sadly, she’s still alive though… and what’s up with that?  I thought for sure that Caroline’s gift made him flip his switch back on, but judging from that ending … guess not.  But, I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

I loved Caroline in this episode though!  Buddy’ing all up to Sybil … passing out gifts and eggnog (that she didn’t have time to poison).  She was the perfect hostess even when things weren’t going exactly the way she wanted them to go.

We learned some interesting things about Stefan in this episode too.  Well, and he learned them as well.  The Ripper of Monterrey killed a whole village on Christmas Eve!  Seline altered his memory so he wouldn’t know it was Christmas and be able to think he deserved to have a life.  At the end of the executive meeting with the CEO of Hell (Cade), Stefan made the deal to flip his humanity switch and kill for Cade for ONE year, but then he gets his life back.  Now, I’m not sure that’s the same deal Damon’s getting, but we’ll see.  Props to Paul Wesley though, because you could see it on his face … the exact moment that Stefan flipped his switch.  I’m sure the fire in his eyes was just a special effect though … but the expression was all Paul.

Let’s get back to the tuning fork weapon for a second.  When Enzo tried to use it on Sybil, Bonnie felt it too.  So, it’s been decided that it also effects witches since it hurt Ric and Caroline’s twins as well.  I’m hoping that since it effected Bonnie she’s getting her magic back… because really, that’s the only way this can end happy.  We need Bonnie Badass back to take on Cade and the Sirens.

Seline appears to be trying to be good and make amends.  So am I the only one thinking that Sybil lied when she said she was the good sister?

As a mid-season finale, this was a great episode… but it made me sad to realize that when the show comes back on January 13th it will be for the last time … for the last nine episodes.  Oh, and in case you were wondering the title comes from a line that Stefan said to Elena in the first season.

Here’s a sneak peek at the new episode coming in January….

Leave a Reply

Categories

